At the end of July I started working part-time at Creative Minds Children's Center. A special place for infants, toddlers, & preschoolers to learn, grow, & explore in a safe environment with a strong family-like support system. 

I also began taking a course called "Chance for Change" which will in the end give me my Child Development Associates Credential. (Qualifying me for better positions in a preschool setting.) :)
I am learning so very much especially right now about the Reggio Emilia Approach and environments. Our teacher, who is also the center's director/owner, is having us re-do the playground. My partner and I are doing the water table area and will be building a water wall. 

This weekend I found some odds and ends around the house and decided that I was going to build one for Ella at home. James quickly hopped on board to assist me in my endeavors. I learned a lot about using a hand drill. :D
We quickly decided to make our "masterpiece" porch-worthy we would need more supplies. We went to Pick & Shovel and bought some materials, no more than $10-15. 

Here is a picture of our final creation:
Everything is pretty much able to move and designed to shift if she wants to make new path ways. 

Materials used:
Recycled/re-purposed/had: Water bottle, soda bottle, small buckets, sippy-cup bottom, toy cups from kids meal, nesquik bottle, 1 funnel, drill & screws, board.


Purchased: Pool hose: $1.29/foot (used about a foot), turkey baster bottom $1.50, red baskets (set of 3 for $3, used 2), metal brackets .25c/each (used 3), duct tape $3, Funnels $2.50 (set of three), pipe $1.49, & clear tubing $1.65/foot (used 2 feet). 



Leave a Reply.